Take 1
Classics
Autographs

Heroine

Director's Notes
Fan Mail
Sponsor

funny and lovely

2009-05-06 - 3:31 p.m.

There is a new boy. New and improved. And lovely, actually quite lovely.
We had a bit of a dance and accidental meeting of lips while saying goodbye when i got out of the taxi on my birthday night out back in February.
Then nothing, perfectly professional at work. Well, as professional as we usually all are. Just mates really and infact we, me and the girls, weren't sure about him at first.
Fast forward to mid march. I've had a lovely day out with my mate J and his 18 month old son. The boy texts to see if i'm busy in the evening. I say that I am but won't be late because of the baby and in fact J lives just round the corner from him. We've been for drinks in an after work context before and always have a good amount of chat but we haven't really spent that much time alone with each other. I go round for a coffee later that night and we sit on the sofa and chat and drink coffee and watch a movie. I feel like i just want to cuddle up to him while we're watching telly and that it would be the perfectly natural thing to do. But of course I don't do it. It's getting late and I say that i should get going. Work in the morning etc. He strokes my hair a little and we have a bit of a heated kiss but agree that anything else would probably be a bad idea. Maybe a very good idea. But probably bad. We leave it at that. I'm wary after boy Version 1.0 and the new boy is also confident and outgoing and from work and to top it off he's quite English in an English accent kind of way- which always makes a man sound a bit full or himself I think. I decide he's probably a bit of a cock as well.

Skip forward to start of April. We're down in the English countryside shooting for a month in a barn and all staying in a hotel nearby. There are 3 of us younger team members who manage to fill our time after 14 hour days by sitting in each other's hotel rooms, eating and drinking wine and being silly and generally having fun. The 3rd person is E. a girl from work who i've recently become so friendly with that the 2 of us, and 2 others, all went on holiday to Rome together. She's magic, she gets on with the boy really well. They're very affectionate with each other but then she's very affectionate with everyone, including me, and i only think that there's anything in their affection momentarily. I'm not sure how i feel about the boy anyway and besides we're working so closely together for a month that it's probably an even worse idea than it was before.
Skip to wk 2 of 4. The 3 of us are being drunk and silly and talking about me doing Taekwondo and E decides to test the boy by, well, kind of wrestling him. This all sounds very dodgy but it wasn't at the time, especially fuelled by a couple of bottles of wine. I obviously end up involved when E calls for back up and then removes herself from the situation ..and the room. We get to a kind of stalemate on the old wrestling when I have him in a wristlock and then we end up kissing again. The old wrestle/kiss combination.
And so it goes on like that. Working stupidy hard during the day. The 3 of us hanging out in the evenings. And then me and the boy sleep in the same bed at nights and have a bit of a kiss and things but it never goes further than that. He's respectful and gentle and communicative. And funny, which I already knew but funny in a silly, not afraid to make himself look a bit stupid, kind of way. He's different from what we expected in that he's more of all the good things the more you get to know him and less o
And so we came back from the shoot and it's kind of continued in this way. Professional-professional at work and during the week and then spending the weekends together.
We spent every night from Friday to Sunday together and all day on Monday. I was worried that he would maybe get bored of having me around. I know from talking to him about the past that he gets bored very easily and it's a kind of worry in the back of my mind. But when i wasn't actually with him he sent me little texts which made me laugh and the night when I didn't stay at his he asked if he could come to stay at mine.
On Monday we did normal things together like go shopping in town and watch a movie in his flat. He made dinner. He can really cook. It was funny to be out in town with him, doing normal things because of course with boy 1.0 that was never a possibility. It was funny that he laughed at me taking the piss about something in TK Maxx and then gave me a kiss. It was funny that he asked my opinion of a jumper and then bought it because I said he looked good in it. It was funny that he had text me to say that he was thinking about what to make me for dinner the next night and that he brought me tea in the morning and that he bought me a toothbrush to keep in his flat and and that we got a taxi together to work on Tuesday . And it was funny but lovely that he didn't once try to actually sleep with me while we were away, even when we were really drunk. And he didn't try in the week that we got back because he wanted to make sure that I was sure about it all.
And although it's not all entirely public knowledge there's no secrecy about it either. Some people know, some people don't but in any case it's normal and funny and quite lovely.

Cut - Action