Take 1
Classics
Autographs

Heroine

Director's Notes
Fan Mail
Sponsor

7 weeks

2001-08-22 - 6:13 p.m.

So,I'm sitting here,the sun is shining outside,I saw Levi at lunch time and we bumped into Beautifulson on his way to lunch,and now i'm sitting here eating an ice cream Mars.No I'm not having a day off I am at work,it's just a good day.

I came into work at about 10 this morning,deciding to take advantage of working flexi-hours for a change and come in that bit later.Then i had a branch meeting at 10.30.I sat there and listened to important issues being discussed,huge amounts of money being allocated,very important people being talkad about as associates,colleauges sometimes even friends.

It was such a change from the last meeeting i was at (which was in my first week working here)

This time I understood what was going on,I knew what the acronyms stood for,I knew what parts of it concerned what i've been working on and how it would affect my workload before i leave 2 weeks from today.I took down notes of things that i have to finish,people i have to talk to,parts of the project that I'll have to wrap up before everything is finalised and sent off to the web developers.

I could put in my own ideas,actually add something to the decisions being made and laugh at the jokes that were just so way over my head before.

This time I'm the one who has to train someone and familiarise them with the system I've developed.

This afternoon I had a meeting with this I.T guy who I talked to in my first week here about developing our data.That time i just listened to what he had to say and remembered it without actually knowing what any of it meant.Then when I came back I ran it past my boss and he made the decision. This time i knew what he was talking about,i could pick up the important bits and knew when he was just trying to make things sound difficult.I could argue back about what we did and didn't need out of the database and how transferable it had to be.We came to an agreement and i made the decision there and then.When i came back all i had to tell my boss is that we'll have everything ready by Friday.

It's strange how much responsibility I've been given really.I'm only 18,I don't have a degree,I've never been trained in this kind of work,when i came I didn't have a clue what I was doing. And now,7 weeks later I know my way around what I'm working on and it's almost all finished,something which i thought was absolutley impossible when I arrived.So much can change in 7 weeks (and if you're Levi you should be picking up another reference there.don't think too much about it honey...it dangerous when you think :P )

You know what? I think I probably just jinxed myself saying all that good stuff about work,so i better add in here that there is still some work to do and then there's the big challenge of attempting to write a summary for..let's call her 'superlips' who is the REAL boss..the kind of boss who you don't actually ever get to meet..only your boss and his boss get to meet her,that's the kind of pull she has.

And now i'm sitting here eating an Ice cream Mars because someone in the office suggested getting ice cream and then everyone wanted one,so we handed over our money and told her our preference and voila!

So yeah,it's been a pretty good day so far...i still have about 2 more hours of it to go though.

Meeting the girl at lunch time for 45 minutes was good.I only wish i could see her tonight aswell like we usually do on a wednesday night but she'll be away with her family to Edinburgh,they're going to see another family member who's a(pretty well known) comedian performing at the Festival.

But I'll see her tommorow,which is just as well..i couldn't go longer than that without seeing her.

Now i gotta go call some people...

(i know all the stuff about work is probably really confusing to everyone reading this who doesn't actually know me cos I never said what my job actually was and I'm not going to say where i'm working,but i think you can probably gather that I'm developing,researching and building a database for a government department)

Cut - Action