Take 1
Classics
Autographs

Heroine

Director's Notes
Fan Mail
Sponsor

date night

2010-01-27 - 12:44 p.m.

How a date should go:

Monday - I say are we still on for the cinema tomorrow night? You say- yeah I'm looking forward to it.

Tuesday- tickets are booked. I tell you that I've brought in dinner- you say what a great idea and appreciate the fact that I spent 2 hours making it the night before so that you don't have to spend any money on eating out. We make plans to meet at 7.

7 comes- you message me and say you're finished- let's go eat. You come and get me from my desk or we meet out on the landing and head upstairs. OR- we make plans to meet at 7 upstairs. I go up at 5 to and get dinner ready and you come up at 7. I can rely on you being there at 7.
OR You need to work on. Instead of telling me you're kind of finished and to come over without telling me what you're doing so that I can sit with you and your boss for half an hour you just tell me the truth and say you're sorry. Can we meet at half 7 instead. So I go up at 25 past and get dinner ready etc.

We meet for dinner, talk about our days- you maybe tell me I look nice. Homemade dinner in the canteen is silly and romantic.

You get the fact that spending time together along with other people is not the same as spending time together alone. Having dinner with you and your flat mate is not the same as having dinner together. Changing our plans to go on a date and making plans for us to go out for drinks with other folk without discussing it with me is not great - and besides you want me all to yourself anyway.

We get to the cinema. You appreciate the fact that I've brought popcorn so that you don't even have to spend any money on that.

We get in to the screen and put on our silly glasses and have a laugh at each other. We settle down to watch the movie and do what couples do. Touch, whisper, I lean my head on your shoulder. That advert with the 'all you need is love' soundtrack comes on and I believe that it's true instead of looking away from the screen akwardly.

I don't notice the space between us. I don't notice the way you hardly look at me. I don't think - well of course he's not going to fall in love with you- you keep moaning at him. And I don't think- if you keep moaning at him then why do you love him anyway?


At the end of the film you turn and kiss me. We drive back to mine and you come in, we have tea or fall straight in to bed. If you're not going to stay at mine then you tell me in person earlier in the day instead of on messenger where you tend to say things you think I won't be happy about and then follow it with xxx so that I can't say anything.

We make love, or at least cuddle up close and kiss. You tell me something that you like about me that isn't just a physical thing.

I don't feel like a nag, I don't feel boring. I don't feel like you think you know best about everything.
I don't feel like I make a lot of effort for not very much in return.

I don't feel like you'll never love me.

Cut - Action