Take 1
Classics
Autographs

Heroine

Director's Notes
Fan Mail
Sponsor

last day of term,and stuff

2001-12-14 - 12:31 a.m.

Last day of term!Fantastic.

Term is the reason i haven't written in so so so long..any spare time around essays and assignments and lectures and tuorials has been spent with Levi and i just haven't had time to update at all.I know i know I'm a bad journal keeper.I'm sorry.

So,last day of term (YAY!!!),Christmas coming up very soon.Have i done any christmas shopping yet?No,of course not...i'll have to get my skates on this week.

It's my girl's birthday on Monday,and she's looking forward to it,and to be honest so am i. I really want her to have a good time,she deserves it so much.She's been all stressed out lately and agitated and annoyed at things.I so want her to relax over the holiday.I wish i could be with her all the time to enforce rest and relaxation...among other things.

My last class today was a film & tv tutorial there were only 8 of us there instead of the usual 20 or so..we just sat around and discussed the course with our tutor..the possible lack of job prospects at then end...the reasons behind learning so much theory...what he has done with his life and how he got to where he is now...why he didn't bring bottles of wine in for us when the other tutor had brought them in for her group...

Some of the people in my group really annoyed me with what they were saying...stuff about the course i mean...to be honest i really fell into my course,it wasn't what i had planned to do and at the last minute i changed my mind and talked my way into it by flashing a big grin and my exam results at the head of the department.But some of them...they have very clear ideas in their heads about what they want to make of themselves and become 'when they grow up'.They were complaining that our course isn't practcal enough,that there's too much theory involved,that the t.v part is boring...and that they probably won't have as good a chance of making it into the industry because of the lack of practical training. These are people who have planned to do this course,know what they want to do with it and where they want to end up.It explicitly states in the prospectus for the course that it is not a practical course,that it is a reading course with some practical elements in honours years.And here are these people,half way through the course,suddenly questioning what they are actually doing there and how this will get them their job as a script writer of executive producer in hollywood. Newsflash :that's what the London School of Film is for. The reason i'm doing the course i'm doing,(apart from the fact that i was into uni but was still deciding what i wanted to study and this course remotley interested me) is because i wasn't sure if this is what i wanted to do,the course gives you all the theory and background first..and then lets you work in practical stuff later if you want.If i'd been thrown into practical work i wouldn't have known where to start.The way they were moaning about the TV part of the course aswell...the course title tells you that it's not just a film course...if that's what you want find a course that is just called 'film'.ugh.

Anyway apart from all that nonsense it was actually quite a good wee discussion,finding out more about everyone and things.They're all pretty decent.

The lecturer had announced earlier this week that there would be drinks in the QM bar tonight at 5,as an end of term thing. My tutorial group,or some of us anyway decided to go because it was right after our class...only we thought that at least the lecturers would be going...because they had announced and arranged it right?Only they didn't go..they were still working..so it turned out that only the 5 people from my class were there and a couple of others who had just been there drinking since 1 in the afternoon and were really drunk already.We sat down and had one akward drink.There was me,another girl from my group,an American guy over on exchange,a mature student and the guy who keeps asking me out for coffee...it was ..interesting.

The other girl,K,was going to meet some other friends at a pub further down the road and asked if i wanted to go..so i did,i only stayed for half an hour and had one drink but at least we talked away.She asked for my phone number and said she'd call over the holiday.I took hers too.

I came home and told my mum i made a friend today.She smiled. :-)

I wish my class would have more of a sense of community.I mean when my sister was at uni she was only in 1 class because she did dentistry and it's a vocational type of course(whereas i'm in 3) so they all got to know each other and had big parties at Christmas and end of term and everyone went and had a great time and things.I was really looking forward to that about uni.But my course isn't the same.We just go into the lecture,come out and hardly say a word to each other,of course there are little groups of people like film girl and co. but apart from that...

ah well at least it means i don't have to buy a new expensive dress every christmas...although i'd like an excuse to get dressed up sometimes.None of my friends are dressy people,none of them wear dresses or makeup (that isn't black and all eye-liner..although i like going gothy sometimes too...)listen to me..don't sound like much of a lesbian do i?lol..each to thier own eh? I do like being a kinda jeans and t-shirt,flares and combats kinda girl...but just every now and then i'd like to feel a little glamorous and feminine i dunno...i honestly don't know where this is leading to at all!

It's leading to the fact that today was the last day of term,Christmas is coming up and i want this festive season to be really really good.I posted my Christmas cards yesterday.I only have one card so far this year..and it's from Levi (thanks honey,at least i know somebody loves me!)i bought 40 and only gave out about 15 of them,i think my sis is going to buy the rest from me...she bought 30 and she's run out already.

anyway..i've run out of things to say...apart from the fact that my electric blanket is on in my bed and i can feel it's heat radiating towards me and calling me to sleep. I wish Levi were in my bed calling me....oh well,one day...

Cut - Action